DDHS Band Camp schedule changes

Due to a change in staffing, the DDHS Band Camp schedule for this summer has some date and time changes.

The DDHS Band Camp will run Aug. 5 through Aug. 10 at DDHS. It will run from 1 p.m. to 8 p.m. Aug. 5-9. Students will be given a one-hour dinner break from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. daily. Students may leave during this time, but their prompt return is expected at 6 p.m.

On the last day of camp, Aug. 10, students will met from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. with a short performance of the week’s activities at 4:45 p.m.

Students should be ready to spend a bulk of the rehearsal time outside in the sun and take whatever precautionary measures necessary to ensure a fun, healthy, and productive week. Students are expected to dress in athletic clothing appropriate for the weather, keep themselves well nourished and hydrated, and come to rehearsal with a positive attitude that will benefit the entire group.

The following is a list of materials that will be required for band camp:

1)   Instrument and/or color guard gear

2)   Reeds, valve oil, sticks, etc.

3)   Music (this will be distributed at the first rehearsal)

4)   Pencils (mechanical are preferable, as we will be outside without direct access to a sharpener)

5)   Athletic shoes and socks (students wearing flip-flops, sandals, or other inappropriate footwear will be asked to go home and return with appropriate footwear)

6)   Sun protection items (sunscreen, sunglasses, hats, etc.)

7)   A water bottle (we will take frequent water breaks and provide water for each student, but it is of the utmost importance that all students stay well hydrated)

Nick Stark

Nick Stark

Leading the DDHS bands this year is Nick Stark, who was hired to replace Jim Gornick (Gornick took a position in the Lake Geneva School District as a middle school band teacher).

He can be contacted at: 708-897-1885 or by email at nickstarkmusic@gmail.com.

Here’s more about him!

Greetings! My name is Nick Stark, and I have been hired as the new band director for DDHS.

I am currently in the process of moving my wife and three children to the Delavan-Darien area from Lansing, Ill., which is in the South suburbs of Chicago, near the Indiana border. I originally hail from Wheaton, Ill., in the Western suburbs of Chicago, and I attended Concordia University-River Forest, where I earned a Bachelor of Music Education degree. I began my career as the Assistant Director of Bands at Lutheran High School South in St. Louis, Mo. I taught at LHSS for seven years and left to attend Central Michigan University as a graduate assistant, where I earned two Master of Music degrees in wind conducting and composition. For the last four years, I have taught jazz and marching band, guitar, orchestra, music history/technology, and music theory at Homewood-Flossmoor High School. I bring a multitude of different experience to this position, and I am very excited to work with the DDHS band students!

Following the first evening of band camp rehearsal, I will also be available for an introduction/question-answer session in the band room, and I welcome any questions/suggestions that you have for the program. I anticipate a wonderful beginning to our school year, and I look forward to meeting everyone!

Sincerely,

Nick Stark

About ddschools

324 Beloit St. Delavan, WI 53115 www.ddschools.org
This entry was posted in Delavan-Darien High School, Delavan-Darien School District. Bookmark the permalink.